The kid reaches for the knight and then pulls his hand away. He reaches for it again, and pulls his hand back again. I keep thinking to myself "He's got to see the pin which is why he's hesitating." The reality is he's totally missed the pin and is probably trying to figure out where the trap is after 30...Nxc3, 31. bxc3 Qxf3. Finally he plays the move 30...Nxc3?? I stop the clock and tell him he's made an illegal move. I know the rules about illegal moves and touching opponent's pieces. However I decided I would let the tournament director explain the rule to him. I get the tournament director and point out what happened. He asked me if my opponent touched my bishop. I said "Yes. He took the bishop with his knight and pressed the clock." The director informed him that he would have to capture my bishop. The problem is the only legal capture is with the queen. The kid was rather upset and immediately resigned. I'll give him credit for that. At least he didn't make me play the position out to mate.
Afterward I saw the director in the hallway, and he said in all the years he's directed that's the first time he's had a situation like that. Most of the time there's been no legal capture or if there has been it hasn't been so devastating. It wasn't the prettiest way to win, but a win is a win.
Here are a few pictures from the gimmick contest.
Alice in Wonderland theme with the red king and queen.
Along with the white queen and the Mad hatter. (2nd place)
Knights of the Roman Forum (1st place)
One match left to go. We're 3-2. We'll probably get paired up again. I have no idea what's happening at the other end of the ballroom where the serious games are happening. I'm don't know how many perfect scores there are. I'm a little too tired to care. That's the problem when recovering from the flu. I'm preserving what strength I have for my games, such as they are.